Like Eggnog Smoothie

wpp

You are probably wondering…”is this raw?” or…”this better be vegaaan”. I am happy to say this is raw, and I am happy to also say I used raw local organic eggs. But wait! Before you run away from my blog, allow me to say a few brief things about the health benefits of raw eggs and introduce you to a different story of the badly reputed eggs.

  • eggs are a great source of Vitamin A, Vitamin D, Vitamin E, Vitamin K, Vitamin B2, B5, B6, B12, Iodine, and essential fatty acids, with the egg yolks being nutrient dense.
  • all these B Vitamins aid in better metabolism, sufficient use of food for energy, and support a healthy nervous system.
  • eggs are rich in two anti-oxidants important for eye health: lutein and zeaxanthin. A study showed that people who consumed an egg a day for 5 weeks had an increase of these antioxidants and there cholesterol levels were not affected. (study)
  • antioxidants in eggs are reduced by about half when cooked. (study)
  • Going against common believes, a researcher  found that the proteins found in eggs may help lower blood pressure. (study)

Personal experience: I feel better when I consume raw eggs than cooked eggs. Most times when I have eaten cooked eggs they leave me feeling tired and a little dehydrated. However, if I eat cooked eggs when I really want them, I find they don’t make me tired. Raw eggs (from my local farmer) give me a great boost of energy like a minute after I have one or two and give me really good digestion. I’d rather not ONLY eat eggs when they are raw because about 50% of the protein in raw eggs does not get absorbed by the body. Something to keep in mind. I find a balance with cooked and raw eggs.

I can go on about eggs, but one more!

  • the antioxidants in eggs are known to prevent cardiovascular disease and cancer. (read)

Any way one decides to eat their eggs, the best healthy choice is pasture-raised organic eggs, and preferably local. There is a high risk for Salmonella in conventional factory-farmed eggs. Look for that deep rich yolk, a sign of a healthy chicken eating abundance of grass and getting in a lot of nutrients. Like this one….

wp4

This smoothie was delicious, and silky smooth thanks to the good fats in the eggs. It would’ve been a perfect eggnog if there was nutmeg and cloves added!  One of the medical assistants who I was shadowing and became good friends with during my internship gifted me a bag of her fresh farmed eggs. I think these were the best I’ve tasted!

may9

Try it: makes about 2 cups

-2 ripe (spotted) bananas

-2 whole organic pasture-raised medium eggs

-1 egg yolk

-1/4 teaspoon Cinnamon

-1/4 cup water

Blend everything except for the eggs. Once you have a smooth mixture in the blender, add the eggs and blend them slowly (to prevent them from oxidizing). Pour into glasses, and you should get a nice foam at the top. Enjoy!

http://www.awakeandliving.com/awake-living/2011/10/eating-raw-eggs-health-tips.html

