Open Faced Fruit Sandwich (raw)

 

wp5

 

 

I have this thing with apples. Or well, they have this thing with me. I absolutely adore them- their crunch, their sweetness, their juiciness, they brighten me up at my first big bite. I appreciate their body make up, but sadly, they leave me feeling so so hungry. A few minutes after I eat one, my stomach feels very empty, it begins to growl, and I immediately become thirsty.

Feeling hungry on my drive home from school and in the mood to get creative, I came up with this open faced fruit sandwich. I was thinking of something refreshing, brightening, juicy but with a bite to it…so of course apples came to mind. But what could I pair them with to make them filling? Almond Butter! How could I dress it up and make it look more tempting than just regular nut butter on sliced apple? I thought of the dried shredded coconut in my fridge would give it a nice color and texture contrast. I got so excited for my snack! and you can too.

Try it:

-1 whole apple, preferably organic (I used my favorite, Fuji apple)

– About 2 tablespoons Plain Almond Butter or any nut butter such as Hemp seed, Walnut, Hazelnut, Macadamia butter, etc. Peanuts are last on my list for healthy. (I used raw Almond Butter)

-1/2 – 1 tablespoon of dried shredded coconut or as much/little for your preferred taste.

Slice your apple not too thin. About a 1/4 inch thick. Remove the seeds. Spread the almond butter over your slices. Top them off with the shredded coconut. You could also make these more vibrant and inviting by adding on top more ingredients that come to your mind. Maybe dried unsweetened blueberries? Goji Berries? Hemp seeds? Kiwi slices? Cacao Nibs? Don’t be afraid of turning it into  jumbo fruit sandwich :)

