Red Velvet Chaga Smoothie (raw vegan)

june8888

I’m getting back on track! My page stayed silent this past week or so and I sure missed it. My college graduation (YAAY!) and my move kept me very busy. I was living in Santa Cruz, CA for my college education. I’m so so glad and relieved to be back home and not living at someone else’s home anymore. Staying away from the dorm life helped me to not be surrounded by so much alcohol and parties. I was able to clean up my lifestyle and hit the books hard. I came a long way. I used to be a C student, anti-college, and rebellious, and this past Friday during my graduation they called out my name a long with an honorable mention. You never know where life will take you!

I also have not posted in the past week because I was working, excitedly, on two informational blog posts. One, about the health benefits of eggs and how their health benefits depends on the type of eggs you buy, which is finally up! (read here). The other, which will be posted soon once I finally capture a picture, will be on one of the main reasons why we literally feel addicted to processed foods.

It was late in the afternoon, I came home after hanging out with my mom at her store, and I whipped up this smoothie. I saw that I had Chaga mushroom tea in the fridge so I decided to use it up and bring this smoothie to another level of nutrition. The tea does not taste mushroomy, fungy, or scary. I promise, a lot. Chaga is seen as the king of all medicinal wild mushrooms. The deep red color and beautiful fluffy looking white designs brought to mind the words red velvet. It was delicious, and a sexy looking thing!

You can enjoy it too

Try it:

-1 cup cooled or cold Chaga tea (boil 2 teaspoons of dried Chaga in 4 cups of water in medium-high heat for 30-45minutes. This reduces to about 2 cups of tea)

-1 ripe (spotted) banana

-1 cup frozen blueberries

-1/2 teaspoon bee pollen

Blend. Top off with a little extra bee pollen.

