Coconut Sorbet with Navitas’ Dried Dragonfruit (Dairy-free)

Only 4 ingredients! Refreshing sweet treat and perfect for this summer heat.

 

june25

A few weeks ago I was behind one of the booths at the San Francisco Marathon Expo selling Rise bars and having people sample them. My friend does demos for Rise Bars so she offered me to come join in on the fun working at the Expo. It was an unforgettable experience. My very first experience doing demos, ever. I love being surrounded in an environment dedicated to health and wellness, especially working there and being a part of it. Some booth sellers don’t like it when customers ask them so many questions about their product, but I absolutely enjoy it! All those questions test my knowledge, they get me thinking in other perspectives, and I learn new things from the customers. I am hoping to do demos again any time soon! hehe. I love helping people become aware of the natural ingredients of the product and how it will magically benefit them! The first 20 minutes of me doing my very first demo I felt shy and wasn’t sure how to put my voice out there to bring people towards our booth and talk to them. How do I start? What do I say? I thought. Then it became easier and enjoyable. I found myself connecting with strangers and throwing a joke here and there to a public audience. I was very happy with how I did and thankful for this opportunity.

 

june24

Navitas booth stand happened to be right on the way to the many bathroom trips I made. That was the stand I was most excited to see at the Expo. Every time I walked to the bathroom I kept eyeing their stand to see what they were up to. I think I visited them 3 times! I saw a beautiful captivating food on their table and found out it was dried Dragonfruit. Loved that idea! It is their very  new product. I bought a bag and decided to use it in a fun recipe that shows its beautiful color and design. The dried dragon fruit itself is very mild in flavor. I like the chewy and slightly crunchy texture, but it lacks a bit in the flavor department. I would use the dried dragon fruit slices as a garnish to recipes, texture, and color.

This is not a raw dessert because I used canned coconut milk, meaning it is pasturized. I decided to use this for the sake of convenience for others. Some people don’t have access to fresh coconuts or don’t want to open a young coconut. If you live near a Whole Foods, they are very nice to cut one open for you to take home.

Try it

-1 can full fat canned (appreciate food in its whole natural state) Coconut Milk. It is BEST BEST BEST to use canned coconut milk on which the label says it is BPA free. BPA is being seen as a neurotoxin.

-1/4 cup Maple Syrup

-1 1/2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract

-1 bag of Navitas dragon fruit dried slices

Blend until fully mixed. Pour into a glass bowl. Freeze for 30 minutes, then open the freezer and give it a stir, and keep on freezing for at least 2 hours. Thaw for about 7 minutes when ready to serve. While thawing, chop into very small cubes a few of the dried dragon fruit slices. Break the sorbet into chunks and sprinkle with chopped dried dragon fruit. Serve your taste buds immediately. This thing is so delicious!

july3

june26

 

