A New Way With Kale Chips (raw, dairy- free, light dressing)

I’ve never been a fan of kale chips. Eating them out of the bag makes it a bit of a stressful experience for me, rather than an enjoyable one. The last bag of kale chips I bought I had to use a spoon to be able to eat them out of the bag. I know. They are very fragile to handle, otherwise they crumble too easily and I walk around with  kale chips all over my shirt. This may be different for homemade kale chips though.

If you do like Kale chips, that is great! They are a great way to get in a salad in you. Of course fresh is best, but kale chips don’t fall short in nutrition and they certainly don’t fall short in flavor.

july15

It was a really slow morning at work. Not many customers came in to the grocery store. The Kale chips were hanging near by, and I started gazing at them thinking of how else I can use them. Since they crumble so easily, I thought they would be perfect to use as a seasoning in a dairy free raw creamy dressing. It’s a great fast way to add a flavor punch to your dressing base. There are various flavors of kale chips that are sold at grocery stores and online. If you want a ranch dressing, you can buy the Ranch Kale chips. If you want BBQ dressing, you can buy BBQ Kale chips and use those. Or if you want a Nacho dip, you can buy Zesty Nacho Kale chips. (There are no artificial sweeteners in kale chips. Kale chips with flavors are made with blended nuts, spices, dehydrated veggies turned into powder, and lemon juice.)

Have you tried Kale Chips? What do you think about them? I have yet to try homemade!

I bought some plain Cashews, a bag of Lydia’s Organics kale chips called Herbs de Provence, and a hidden nutritious ingredient for the dressing. Can you guess?

Zucchini! Zucchini uncooked is incredibly mild tasting, super light in calories, provides a lot of bulk, a bit of creaminess when blended in a recipe, and a great nutrition boost. Zucchini is high in anti oxidants, and research is showing that it stands close to carrots for eye health.

Since I’m using cashew nuts for the dressing, instead of making a raw recipe heavy on cashews, I opt for the zucchini to make it lighter without sacrificing much texture. The combination of cashews, zucchini, water, and flavorful kale chips sounded great, but I needed one more ingredient to make it pop. I saw that I had Apple Cider Vinegar in the fridge. So instead of using lemon juice, I decided to use the Apple Cider Vinegar because I wanted its great benefits for digestion. Traditionally, Apple Cider Vinegar is used to help our digestion work better, and also to beat the bloat! For recipes I sometimes like to use Apple Cider Vinegar instead of lemon juice.

I love how easy Kale Chips crumble up and it’s a great fast flavor enhancer for recipes. You can also sprinkle them on top of a salad, in a stew, in a dressing like this recipe, etc.

july13

Try it

-2 medium zucchinis, chopped, and green skin peeled off.

-1/2 cup of plain Cashews

-3/8 cup of water (this is 1/4 cup + 1/8 cup)

-1/8 cup  + 2 Tablespoons of finely crumbled Kale Chips (I used Herbs de Provence for a cheesy flavor)

-1 Tablespoon of Apple Cider Vinegar

-A dash of sea salt

Blend the zucchini, cashews, sea salt, and water on high speed until it is smooth. Add the crumbled Kale Chips and the Apple Cider Vinegar, blend on medium for about 10 seconds. If you’d like it thinner, add a little bit more water.  Pour into a bowl and it is ready to serve. I like to let it sit out for about an hour so the flavors get a chance to mingle and become more well rounded.

I like to serve it on top of pastured chicken or mixed with shredded chicken, with cut up veggies, mixed with zucchini noodles to make pasta, and you can also use this dressing for your sandwitches. Taste it, and see how else you would like to use it. Hope you enjoy!

