Velvet Citrus Beet Dressing

Sometimes I sit and write down the ingredients for what I want to use in a dressing. Other times, I like to work my way up to the finished product by taste testing as I go. Towards the end of making this dressing, I was thinking of what ELSE could I add to it to make it very different from the other dressings I’ve been making. I looked through the pantry, searched the cabinets, and when I took a look in the fridge, I saw in a little glass jar the lonely beet root powder I bought a while ago and never used it. It’s time finally came. I loved the idea of it! After I mixed it in the dressing, I found that it added a gentle sweetness to the dressing. It also gave the dressing a beautiful, vibrant, super shiny, and silky appearance. I love seeing it under light.

Yes, Beet Root powder is full of nutrients and health benefits. The powder comes from the dried root of the beet. Betaine is abundant in the powder. It helps your kidneys and liver process the amino acid, SAM-e. It aids the liver in breaking down dietary fats. It is a rich source of anti oxidants and iron, making it a great dietary choice to lower blood pressure and help cure anemia. Did you know that just one teaspoon of this powder is equal to one beet? How interesting!

You can have fun with this powder by adding it to smoothies for a little sweetness, color, and even using it as a natural blush for your face! The beautiful color of the beet root powder comes from the phytonutrients called Betalains. These substances are capable of detoxifying the whole body and are anti-inflammatory.

I like to coat my salad with this dressing, or drizzle it on top of grilled chicken, and even dip hard boiled eggs in it.

july23

Try It

-4 Tablespoons Lemon Juice

-1 Tablespoon + 1 teaspoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil

-1 Teaspoon Onion Powder

-2 Teaspoons Tamari Sauce, or Coconut Aminos (these are healthy substitutes for Soy Sauce)

-1 1/2 Teaspoons Beet Root Powder

-1/2 Teaspoon Maple Syrup

Mix everything well. I just use a fork.

http://www.sunburstsuperfoods.com/organic-beet-root-powder/

