Product Review-Lulu’s Raw Chocolate Bars

lulus3

may6

lulu1

When I’m about to step in the store for a good dose of chocolate, Lulu’s Raw Chocolate is what first comes to mind. Lulu’s products are one of my few favorites out there consisting of all natural, simple, quality, and healthy ingredients. Their bars are decadently healthy treats (or ehem, breakfast for some of us…)

I can taste the quality and care of their chocolate products. Smooth, silky, rich, melt in your mouth chocolate. My favorite aspect about their cacao beans are that they are fair trade and sourced from small family farms in Ecuador. I absolutely love that they do NOT use any Soy products in the chocolate, thickener agents, etc. Their ingredients range from Cacao beans, Coconut Sugar, Vanilla Bean, Coffee Beans, Maca root powder, sprouted Almonds, Mesquite, Hazelnuts, and Sea Salt. Lulu’s does not heat their chocolate at high temperatures in order to preserve the valuable nutrients found in pure chocolate, it is considered a raw product, they sweeten with natural sugars such as Coconut Sugar (low glycemic), and their ingredients are certified organic. Their colored golden wrapping is beautiful and I can’t miss saying it is 100% made from compostable material. It gives the feel that as you are unwrapping the colored gold wrapper the chocolate inside is treasure.

My eyes lite up when I came home from class to find a box sitting by the door with the name Lulu’s Raw Chocolate on the stamp. It was sure a great week.

Now lets get on with our old time favorite topic, chocolate.

lu2

Maca Buttercups. I’ll be honest. I did not really enjoy this one. I love Maca, so I don’t think it was the Maca. I found it to be very salty and maybe that took away from the flavors.

The ingredients according to their website are >  Organic & Fair Trade Ingredients: *=certified organic: *Ecuadorian Cacao, *Coconut Secret Coconut Crystals, *Sprouted Almonds, *Wildcrafted Maca, *Mesquite, *Vanilla Bean, Fleur de Sel Sea Salt & LOVE

lu3

Ah. YUM. These were divine. These are their Soul Truffles. The center is made of dehydrated organic hazelnuts slowly stone ground with cacao nibs & coconut sugar.

The ingredients are > Organic & Fair Trade Ingredients: *=certified organic: Fresh Raw / Soaked / Dehydrated Hazelnuts*, Cacao*, Coconut Secret Coconut Crystals*, Vanilla Bean*, Fleur de Sel Sea Salt & LOVE

lu4

The Midnight Velvet. Can you guess the flavor? 88% Cacao. Luscious dark chocolate made from heirloom Cacao beans. Silky smooth, very dark, and very seductive.

The ingredients are > Organic & Fair Trade Ingredients: *=certified organic :  Ecuadorian Cacao*, Coconut Palm Sugar*, Vanilla Bean*, Sea Salt & LOVE

lu77

Chocolate Maca Chunk. The base of this chocolate bar is Maca powder infused with Cacao butter, resulting in a delicious caramel like flavor. At the back of the chocolate bar you’ll see thick chunks of chocolate with sprinkled Cacao Nibs. Oh my.

The ingredients are > Raw, Fair Trade Ingredients *=certified organic : Ecuadorian Cacao*, Coconut Palm Sugar*, Wildcrafted Maca*, Mesquite*, Vanilla Bean*, Sea Salt & LOVE

lu8

Raw Love chocolate bar. 78% Cacao. This is my favorite bar by Lulu’s and one my few favorite raw chocolate bars I’ve tried so far. Perfectly sweet and dark. Smooth, rich, and slowly melts in your mouth.

The ingredients are > Raw, Fair Trade Ingredients *=certified organic: Ecuadorian Cacao*, Coconut Palm Sugar*, Vanilla Bean*, Sea Salt & LOVE

lulu5

Maca love. 7,500 mg of Maca in each bar. My second favorite bar. Tastes like caramel and I like that it has a good dose of Maca.

The ingredients are > Raw, Fair Trade Ingredients *= certified organic: Ecuadorian Cacao Butter*, Coconut Palm Sugar*, Wildcrafted Maca*, Mesquite*, Vanilla Bean*, Sea Salt & LOVE

lulu7

Smoked Sea Salt Almond. This one proved me wrong. I was skeptical at first. I’ve never tried chocolate with nuts, and I thought it would not be a good combination. I opened it, took a bite, and wow. It was amazing. I specially love that they use sprouted almonds. The smoked sea salt and pieces of almonds creates so much depth of flavor and texture.

The ingredients are > Raw, Fair Trade Ingredients *=certified organic: Cacao*, Coconut Secret Coconut Crystals*, Sprouted Almonds*, Smoked Sea Salt, Vanilla Bean* & LOVE

lulu8

Coffee Crunch. For all the coffee chocolate lovers out there, this is it. You have got to try this and report back to me if this was one of the best chocolate coffee bars you have tried. Love the perfectly balanced chocolate with crushed coffee beans. The coffee flavor deffinitly stands out. The coffee beans used are from Stumptown Direct Trade Mountain Blend.

The ingredients are > Organic & Fair Trade Ingredients: *=certified organic:
Ecuadorian Cacao*, Coconut Secret Coconut Crystals*,
Stumptown Coffee Beans*, Vanilla Bean*, Sea Salt &
LOVE

lulus2

Aztec Crunch. This is similar to the Raw Love bar, with a generous dose of Cacao Nibs sprinkled on top. Sweet dark chocolate, with a great crunch.

The ingredients are > Raw, Fair Trade Ingredients *=certified organic : Ecuadorian Cacao*, Coconut Palm Sugar*, Cacao Nibs*, Vanilla Bean*,  Sea Salt & LOVE

I really hope my dear readers go out in search for a pure nutrient dense chocolate bar that will serve their taste buds and health.

Visit their site! http://www.luluschocolate.com/

aug6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

