Mini Donuts-Paleo & Au Naturel

They say the only healthy part of a donut is… the whole in the middle. Not for these donuts! The ingredients used…and the ONLY ingredients used, were- Coconut Flour, grass-fed Butter, pasture-raised local eggs, Honey, Maple Syrup, Vanilla Extract, Baking Soda, and Sea Salt. They were then baked in the oven. They did come out a little too moist for a donut, but were still a hit.

sep188

I decided to make mini Donuts as a birthday surprise for my Dad. I remembered he said how much he used to like Entenmann’s donuts (these donuts are commercial donuts that are heavily processed flour with sugar and has a longer shelf-life than a human!) When my Dad said how much he liked those, my eyes widened at the thought of surprising him with a healthy version of a donut. Trust me…taste is SO not sacrificed. These taste absolutely delicious on their own, but the Cacao sauce tops it off.

Happy Birthday, Dad. The greatest person in my life, with my momma.  He inspires me in many ways.

dad33

I went over to Marksdailyapple.com (Paleo community) to ask around for a good tasting healthy version of a donut. I didn’t want to do a raw donut because so far the only recipes I have found for raw donuts contain nuts and dried fruit, which does not give the texture of a typical donut. I was looking for something on the cakey-side. So I decided to give these Coconut Flour Donuts a try!

Try It

-I used the recipe that can be found on this link (click here) from Comfy Belly.

-You can find Coconut Flour at your health grocery store.

My home-made pure Cacao Sauce:
-1/2 cup melted Cacao Butter
-1/4 cup Carob powder
-1/4 cup raw Cacao powder
-11 drops liquid Stevia Extract

Gently melt the Cacao butter in a double broiler on low heat. Once melted, turn the heat off, and slowly incorporate the powders into the melted cacao and mix well. Once it is smooth, remove from heat and stir. Once it begins to thicken, use it to decorate the donuts and let the donuts set until the chocolate sauce hardens.

I ran out of mini donut molds, so I used the leftover batter to make small cakes. They would even be great as part of breakfast.

donut4

sep177

 

