Blackberry Mint Superfood Smoothie and Finding Balance with Work Life

Well, I was hoping to get around to posting this post last night after a wonderful day I had and wanting to share a message I deeply felt about. I’ve noticed with the two jobs I have, and only having Sunday as my day off, I’m getting to experience what other people experience. Working a lot, and not having much time for other recreational things makes me miss out on social events as well as letting certain events pass by. I have noticed how much time I have been spending in doors, under artificial light for hours, and getting less sunshine exposure nourishing my skin. Usually on the weeknights I either stay at home and work on my blog and Instagram feed, or I go out with friends but it is usually to a night club or a restaurant.

The kind of day I experienced yesterday, was truly refreshing, awakening, and life enriching. My friend and I spent a few adventurous hours out in the sun and under trees walking on Mt. Tamalpais. It felt great to finally be out in nature! Just to get that small dose of being out in the woods, moving our body (exercise), being aware and connected with our surroundings, was powerful enough to make me feel rejuvenated, inspired, refreshed, and energized. I hope to be able to do this at least once a week from now on. It is much needed. You should try it. Just being outside where it is beautiful, quiet, and with peaceful vibes will certainly refresh you, bring you peace, and bring a sense of wellness. Also, take someone a long with you. Sharing thoughts with my friend, dreams of our future, goals, inspirations, memories, ideas, and advice is so life enriching.

Rather than spending free time indoors, watching television, drinking, laying around, or spending hours on Facebook, make some time to get out there and emerge yourself in a different world that is out there. You will feel the difference.

Blackberry Mint Refresher…with Spirulina.

(Superfood, Vegan, Gluten free, Paleo)

sep2777

This recipe is made from the foraged blackberries down my street. There was finally fresh organic mint at the store and thought to combine these two in a delicious refreshing warm day cooling drink.

Try it

Bottom-

1 cup blackberries mashed.

Next-

1 banana,

2 ice cubes

1/8 cup water

1/4 teaspoon Spirulina (trust me)

1/8 teaspoon mint extract. Blend. Pour in the glass and then rinse the blender.

Next– 1 banana, half a peeled apple, 1/2 teaspoon Coconut Sugar or honey, about 3/4 cup water, 4 ice cubes, 10 fresh mint leaves. Blend. Top with Blackberries and Cacao Nibs or a fair trade dark chocolate bar.

