Cacao Mint Fudge Bites (Raw Vegan, Gluten Free, Paleo)

So remember in a few posts back I mentioned I wanted to experiment by cutting out the alcoholic drinks (even if it was only ONE) I had on the weekends to see how my energy changes in the morning? A short while back I was not waking up with that great refreshed energy I used to wake up with in the mornings. When I started eating raw vegan, I raaarely had any drinks. Those mornings I would leap out of bed in an instant! After some time, I started to experiment with the Paleo way of eating while at the same time I started intense weight lifting routines of Powerlifting and my college semester became probably more intense than powerlifting! I slowly noticed my previous morning energy was drifting away. It would take me a few minutes to wake up while still in bed. It was a big work load that happened at the same time. At the beginning of this year I went on a couple of road trips and that’s when I had a few bites of sugary desserts I wouldn’t normally have, and quite a few drinks as well. Close to my graduation and summer is when I began going out more and having a drink or two more often. I started to enjoy the sugary alcoholic flavors again and holding a drink in my hand. It was fun, but it came with a catch. I began to feel “liveless” getting out of bed in the mornings and it took me longer to wake up. This is a very common feeling with people, but I just didn’t enjoy it and I really wanted to go back to how I used to feel.

So, how have I been feeling lately ever since I decided to take a long break from having drinks? I’ve been feeling much better. A very nice difference. I’ve noticed that feeling of eagerness to start the day right when my eyes open is coming back to me.

Having drinks when going out is fun, but what is also fun is partying and dancing allll night long with a glass filled with water and a slice of a lemon on top ;)

wp99

These Cacao Mint Fudge bites are made from dried fruit, nuts, and raw cacao powder. These are a great treat for energy and a good metabolism. I really enjoy these to munch on anytime, or before a work out.

These were specially made for a dear friend on her birthday and they were a hit with everyone!

Try it

-1 cup chopped soft Medjool dates

– 1/4 cup almonds

– 3/4 cups Walnuts

-1/8 cup + 1 tablespoon raw Cacao powder

– 1 1/4 teaspoon Vanilla extract

– 3/4 teaspoon + 1/8 teaspoon Mint extract

– 1/4 teaspoon pure Sea Salt.

Process everything in your food processor for about a half minute. Unplug the machine and give the mixture a stir with a spoon. Plug the food processor back in and process until it becomes a doughy consistency. The mixture should stick together when you press it with your hand. Now you can transfer the mixture to fill a pan or onto a plate and get creative with shaping it. Hope you enjoy this!

