Life is a Journey & Smoothie Recipe

Hello.

(There are the echoes.)

My poor blog. It has not been very vibrant recently. That’s okay. Life gets in the way sometimes and it’s okay to accept it. Whenever one is feeling down, it’s important to recognize why one is feeling that way. Accept those not so good feelings and then take some time to reflect on what is triggering this. Once you recognize what is causing these feelings, find ways of solving the issue or making things better. These times are the ones where we learn more about ourselves, we grow, and become stronger. I’ve not been very active around here, my facebook, and instagram because of overwhelming feelings and feeling a little stressed out on a fast decision I had to make.

Lots of intense research has been happening lately on where I want to pursue my Holistic Nutrition certification. It’s been a bit stressful to be quite honest. The fast paced research and 100 mph thoughts was because of the short amount of time I had to make a decision if I wanted to go to the Institute of Holistic Nutrition in Canada. The semester starts in January, and because of new student Visa regulations, my only opportunity to attend would be this January. So! I had to go through all of the well recognized holistic nutrition programs there are, compare them with one another, investigate them, and decide which ones are a good fit for me. Within those intense mornings and nights of researching with my mom, visions of my future would emerge. I began thinking about what do I want to do in the nutrition field/community, what do I see my self doing? how do I want to help people? where do I want to be? etc. There has been a lot going through my head. I’ve been going through moments where I feel excited and optimistic, and other days where I’m feeling lost. I want to get far with nutrition. I want to help a lot of people. I want to have a successful living at doing what I love to do. I’ve been careful with my decisions and finding schools and education that will serve me.

I went on a walk the other day, and thought that maybe feeling a little lost is simply part of my journey. I will stick with that.

I have finally decided to stay in California and attend a holistic nutrition program in Berkeley. I figured it would be much better to network here and because I would be saving money with rent, I can better afford to attend health events/workshops/seminars while still going to classes. I would also be able to keep my part time job at Urban Remedy (an organic raw juice company) and graduate from a detoxification program in Florida! I am very excited to graduate in about a year and a half (which is soon for me!) as a Certified Holistic Nutritionist. This will JUST be the beginning of my health journey and to reach and help a lot of people.

I’ve had the great opportunities of a few friends and locals who have reached out to me for advice on their health. I loved doing research for them and giving advice for them. What was so special and inspiring was hearing from them about how these things where really helping them and they could feel the difference. It’s amazing what holistic nutrition can do, and that’s why I’ve fallen in love with this field of health. Good and real nutrition. With my certification I will be able to help a lot more people, specially in clinical settings.

So this is what I’m going through in my journey as of now. I’m so very thankful for blogging. I can connect with others and keep track of my life’s journey into my passion. If you guys care to share any of your experiences please do!

Since I’ve experienced a little bit of stress with this, I’ve made sure to keep taking care of myself. I’ve made sure to get plenty of sleep and quiet the mind. I’ve also made sure to get plenty of movement for circulation and release those feel good endorphins.

Here is a smoothie I made that is easy on digestion, nutritious, brain fueling, and energizing. This is my Green Mesquite Smoothie with healthy fats to better absorb the nutrients from the greens. It’s always great to pair greens with a good fat source.

sep677

Try it

You will need a fresh opened Coconut. (Ask the produce guy if they can cut open the coconut for you and wrap it).

For the smoothie:

A big handful of Green Butter Head Lettuce and 1/2 cup Coconut water and blend. Now add to the green liquid 2 spotted Bananas, 1 mandarin, 2 teaspoons raw Mesquite powder or Cacao powder, 1/4 teaspoon Cinnamon , and 2 ice cubes, blend well. Pour.

For the top layer:

Now rinse the blender and add all the meat from the Coconut with a little water just enough to blend into a creamy mixture. Add 1/4 teaspoon Vanilla Extract. Pour on top of the smoothie. Top with anything you’d like. I used Chia Seeds and dried Mulberries. You can use Goji Berries, dried Mango chopped, nuts, slices of fruit, etc.

